Animals |
[top] |
- Access Science
- Animals are included in this fully searchable collection of science reference materials covering astronomy, biology, chemistry, physics, and more. Includes a dictionary, encyclopedia, research articles, biographies and Student Center.
- EBSCO Animals (EBSCOhost)
- Primarily intended for elementary-age students, this database provides information on animals of all kinds, as well as on topics relating to animals. The database consists of indexing, abstracts, and full text records describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals.
- What's That Snake?
- This program includes 30 species and subspecies of snakes that are found in Ohio. Learn about Ohio snakes or use the program to identify one you have seen.
|
Antiques |
[top] |
- Antiques Reference
- Use this resource to help determine the value of antiques, collectibles, and fine art. Digital images and pricing information for hundreds of thousands of antiques and collectibles are provided from fifty leading regional auction houses located throughout the United States, plus other selected specialist auctions.
|
Art |
[top] |
- ART Collection
- This resource provides high-quality, digital images of works of art from museums around the world. Cultures and time periods represented range from contemporary art, Native American and Inuit art, to ancient Greek, Roman, and Egyptian works, along with Japanese and Chinese works.
- Humanities International Index
- This comprehensive database covers journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. It provides citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.
|
Articles from Journals/Magazines |
[top] |
The Reference Staff can help you find magazine and newspaper articles. Please fill out the periodical article request information of the Interlibrary Loan request form. When we have obtained the article, we will notify you.
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)
- This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. Includes peer-reviewed full-text articles as well as indexed and abstracted articles, and searchable cited references.
- eLibrary
- Features a powerful user interface designed to make research easy. Students find the answers they need from more than 2,500 full-text magazines, newspapers, reference books, and transcripts plus thousands of pictures, maps, weblinks, and audio/video files.
- General Reference Center (InfoTrac)
- A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources in one easy-to-use interface. Use General Reference Center to find articles from magazines, reference books, and newspapers, many with full-text and images. (Date range is 1980-present.) Find articles on current events, popular culture, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.
- MAS Ultra - School Edition (EBSCOhost)
- This database contains full text for more than 700 popular, high school magazines.
- MasterFILE Premier (EBSCOhost)
- Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 1,700 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also includes nearly 500 full text reference books, 84,774 biographies, 100,554 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 202,164 photos, maps and flags.
- Readers Guide Retro
- Sometimes older magazine articles are difficult to track down. This database indexes the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States from the year 1890 through 1982. It is a tremendous historical record. This is not a full-text database; however, the Reference Staff can use an article citation to obtain a copy of the article from other resources.
|
Biography |
[top] |
- American National Biography
- Offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation. All biographies are of individuals who have died.
- Biographies Plus Illustrated (Wilson Web)
- Contains more than 111,000 biographies and obituaries and more than 32,000 photographs of the subjects. Many of the biographies are enhanced with full text, abstracts, and citations.
|
Books/Literature |
[top] |
- American and English Full-text Literature Collections
- These literature collections are electronic books of American and English literature--poetry, drama, fiction, and the Bible. Each collection contains the online full text of one or more books originally published in print. You can search or browse single or multiple collections.
- Books & Authors
- Find what to read next with this Readers' Advisory service, which draws from literary reference works to compliment your reading experience. Make use of numerous search methods to find titles and authors, including Read Alikes for your favorites. Additionally, create your own reading room where you can maintain reading lists and contribute ratings and reviews.
- Humanities International Index
- This comprehensive database covers journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. It provides citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.
- LitFinder
- Includes PoemFinder, StoryFinder, and EssayFinder with the full text of thousands of poems, short stories, and essays searchable by author, title, or keywords. Great when you can only remember part of a poem, or want stories, essays, or poems on a subject.
- NoveList
- A resource for readers of fiction that provides subject heading access, reviews, annotations, and much more for over 135,000 fiction titles. It also includes Author Read-alikes, What We're Reading, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, and Annotated Book Lists. For school media specialists and teachers there are Picture Book Extenders and articles on Teaching with Fiction.
- NoveList K-8
- This resource features a student-focused interface and a database of young adult, children's and easy titles designed for children in pre-K, elementary or middle schools.
- Read This Now
- A live, online readers' advice service provided free of charge for the citizens of Ohio by the State Library of Ohio and your public library. Professional librarians are available 24 hours a day, seven days a week to answer your questions and assist you in finding your next good read.
|
Business and Finance |
[top] |
- Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost)
- Covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Includes full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications.
- Legal Forms for Ohio
- Provides a wide selection of state-specific (and multi-state) legal forms across the most popular legal areas. Includes real estate contracts, wills, pre-marital agreements, bankruptcy, divorce, landlord tenant and business related forms. Also included is a comprehensive attorney state directory and a dictionary of legal definitions explained in laymen's language.
- ReferenceUSA
- This directory is not only good for simple phone or address look up, but for marketing research. It contains detailed information on more than 13 million U.S. businesses and 120 million U.S. households. The information includes addresses, phone numbers, toll free numbers, Web site URLs, financial information, median household income, median home value, and more.
- Regional Business News (EBSCOhost)
- Provides coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
|
Careers |
[top] |
- Vocational and Career Collection (EBSCOhost)
- Provides full text coverage for more than 350 trade and industry-related periodicals.
|
Current Events |
[top] |
- Facts on File: World News Digest
- World News Digest brings together and enhances nearly seven decades of news from the renowned Facts On File World News Digest in print. This archival record of domestic and international news is updated weekly and contains more than 1 million internal hyperlinks and convenient new features such as tabbed search results. It covers all major political, social, and economic events since November 1940. This publication of record is unrivaled for its depth, breadth, and accuracy. This is an exellent resource for current events and history projects.
- TOPIC Search (EBSCOhost)
- This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms.
- World Data Analyst
- Combining detailed statistics with powerful tools for analysis and display, this resource features a unique collection of in-depth information about the countries of the world and allows you to create interesting and informative comparative charts and tables.
|
Directories |
[top] |
- ReferenceUSA
- This online directory contains detailed information on more than 13 million U.S. businesses and 120 million U.S. households. The information includes addresses, phone numbers, toll free numbers, Web site URLs, financial information, median household income, median home value, and more. This directory is not only good for simple phone or address look up, but for marketing research.
|
Education |
[top] |
- ERIC
- The Educational Resource Information Center contains more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.
- Library, Information Science, & Technology Abstracts (EBSCOhost)
- This world-class bibliographic database provides coverage on subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. With coverage dating back to the mid-1960s, it is the oldest continuously produced database covering the field of information science.
- OH! Teach
- Need some new lesson plan ideas? How about connections to professional organizations or e-zines related to education? Why not try some innovative teaching techniques or explore new subject sites to enhance the classroom curriculum? OH!Teach is a collaborative project of OPLIN & INFOhio and provides linked information for Ohio's teachers, educators, and school library media specialists.
- Ohio School Web sites
- This resource consists of lists, both alphabetical and by county, of Ohio schools'--vocational, private, and public--Web sites.
- Professional Development Collection (EBSCOhost)
- Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 550 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.
- Teacher Reference Center (EBSCOhost)
- This index covers over 260 titles from the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books. It provides coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more for K-12 Teachers & Librarians.
|
Encyclopedias |
[top] |
- Enciclopedia Universal en Español
- La enciclopedia más comprensiva del idioma español que contiene sobre 47.000 artículos, 65.000 palabras, 8.300 fotos e imágenes, y mas que 390 mapas y 500 tablas. Utilice este recurso para investigar o navegar en busca de información en la enciclopedia o para encontrar palabras en el diccionario.
- Encyclopedia Britannica Online
- Provides general reference through the online version of the popular reference book set published by Encyclopedia Britannica. Use this powerful resource to search or browse for information in encyclopedias, magazines, videos, and Web sites. There is also access to a kids version of the encyclopedia.
- Funk and Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia
- For students, this database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
- Oxford Reference Online - All Subjects
- This resource makes a wide variety of reference books available online, including English and bilingual dictionaries, maps and atlases, timelines, an encyclopedia, and subject references from Oxford University Press.
|
Genealogy |
[top] |
- HeritageQuest (ProQuest)
- Includes Census records (1790-1930), book and article searches, Revolutionary War records, and Freedman's Bank.
- Ohio Death Certificate Index
- Search this database for death certificates from 1913-1944 and discover other ways to locate death certificates.
- Ohio Memory
- A digital collection of Ohio historical artifacts.
- Ohio Military Rosters
- Search the full text of the roster from the Adjutant General records for officers and enlisted men from Ohio who served in the War of 1812.
- Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps
- The Sanborn Maps are large scale street plans produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance company from 1867 to 1970. Sanborn Maps show the outline of each building including the location of windows and doors together with street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers. Use these maps to locate and identify buildings and neighborhoods, to study the growth of towns and cities, and to study the impact of new developments.
- See Also --Ohio History and Genealogy
|
Health/Medicine |
[top] |
- Alt HealthWatch (EBSCOhost)
- Provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine dating back to 1990. Includes full-text for many peer-reviewed journals.
- Consumer Health Complete
- Provides convenient access to easily understandable health and medical information. Consumers can search and browse within medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, and magazine articles.
- Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCOhost)
- Provides scholarly full text journals as well as indexing and abstracts focusing on many medical disciplines with coverage of nursing and allied health being particularly strong.
- MEDLINE
- Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE indexs over 4800 biomedical journals providing citations with some full text. Most materials indexed are at the research level.
- NetWellness
- Improve your health online. This non-profit consumer health Web site provides high quality health information created and evaluated by medical and health professional faculty from several Ohio universities.
- Psychology and Behavorial Sciences Collection (EBSCOhost)
- This database covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
|
History |
[top] |
- Annals of American History Online
- Illuminate U.S. history from 1493 to modern times in over 2,000 primary documents. Read about history in the original words of history-makers.
- Facts on File: World News Digest
- World News Digest brings together and enhances nearly seven decades of news from the renowned Facts On File World News Digest in print. This archival record of domestic and international news is updated weekly and contains more than 1 million internal hyperlinks and convenient new features such as tabbed search results. It covers all major political, social, and economic events since November 1940. This publication of record is unrivaled for its depth, breadth, and accuracy. This is an exellent resource for current events and history projects.
- See Also --Ohio History and Genealogy
|
Homework Help |
[top] |
Get live help 24 hours a day, seven days a week from a librarian online at Homework Now.
The grade groupings below are only guidelines. Resources from any grade group may be appropriate. Check out other categories based on your topic, including the Articles from Journals/Magazines databases, which cover a wide range of subjects.
High School
- Access Science
- Provides a fully searchable collection of science reference materials covering astronomy, biology, chemistry, physics, and more. Includes a dictionary, encyclopedia, research articles, biographies and Student Center.
- OH! Teens
- Provided by OPLIN, this is site offers resources for teens, from Homework Help to Entertain Us to Life After High School.
- Student Research Center (EBSCOhost)
- This resource is designed for students to search by keyword or by topic to find the most useful search results. Results can be easily sorted by source type (magazines, reference books, photos, flags, etc.).
- TOPIC Search (EBSCOhost)
- This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms.
Middle School/Junior High
- Middle Search Plus (EBSCOhost)
- Offers full text for popular magazines for middle and jr. high school research. Also includes biographies, primary source documents, and an Image Collection.
- SIRS Knowledge Source
- Provides integrated online access to full-text articles and Internet resources from SIRS reference databases, covering Student Reference, Social Issues, Health, Science, Business, Historic and Government Documents, Directories and Almanacs, Arts and Humanities, and Citizenship.
- World Data Analyst
- Combining detailed statistics with powerful tools for analysis and display, this resource features a unique collection of in-depth information about the countries of the world and allows you to create interesting and informative comparative charts and tables.
Elementary
- Kids Search (EBSCOhost)
- For younger students, Kids Search makes it easy for students to search by keyword or by topic to find the most useful search results. Results can be easily sorted by source type - -magazines, reference books, photos, flags, etc.
- OH! Kids
- Part of OPLIN, this site provides Web resources for children 11 years of age and younger. Each resource is selected for its "kid-friendliness."
- Primary Search (EBSCOhost)
- Primary Search provides full text for nearly 70, popular magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles).
- Searchasaurus (EBSCOhost)
- Designed for younger children, this research tool allows for keyword and topic searches. Young researchers can find great information on topics like animals, history, health, science, and what's in the news.
- What Tree Is It?
- Use this resource to identify and learn about common Ohio trees. By only knowing one part of a tree (leaf, fruit, etc.), you can follow the samples given until you can identify your tree.
- What's That Snake?
- This program includes 30 species and subspecies of snakes that are found in Ohio. Learn about Ohio snakes or use the program to identify one you have seen.
- What's the Point?
- This resource is designed to help users identify flint artifacts, which are some of the most enduring legacies of prehistoric peoples. Learn more about Ohio's prehistoric people.
|
|
[top] |
- Legal Forms for Ohio
- Provides a wide selection of state-specific (and multi-state) legal forms across the most popular legal areas. Includes real estate contracts, wills, pre-marital agreements, bankruptcy, divorce, landlord tenant and business related forms. Also included is a comprehensive attorney state directory and a dictionary of legal definitions explained in laymen's language.
|
Music |
[top] |
- Grove Music Online
- "The most up-to-date music reference work on the Internet," this regularly updated resource covers all kinds of music from around the world, both historical and contemporary topics, and includes biographies of musicians.
|
Newspapers |
[top] |
- America's Newspapers (Newsbank)
- The electronic editions of record for valuable local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers--all in one easy-to-search database. Each paper provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community. Paid ads are excluded.
The Dayton Daily News is included under Ohio Newspapers.
- Newspaper Source (EBSCOhost)
- Provides selected full text for nearly 30 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
- Ohio Newspaper Index
- This resource is an index of Ohio newspapers held by the Ohio Historical Society (over 4500 titles). These include historical newspapers reaching back as far as 1793. Ways of obtaining copies of the newspapers are also covered here.
|
Ohio Resources |
[top] |
- Discover Ohio
- Provided by OPLIN, this site lists Ohio resources and the perfect starting place to learn about just about anything in or about the Buckeye State, from recreation to jobs and business resources and a whole lot more.
- Ohioline (OSU Extension Office)
- Through factsheets, bulletins and other educational materials, the Ohio State University Extension Office provides a wealth of information covering a wide array of subjects, such as agriculture, natural resources, family and consumer sciences, community development, 4-H and youth.
Ohio Government
- State of Ohio Government Information and Services
- The official State of Ohio government site is full is resources for citizens and businesses.
- Ohio Capitol Connection
- This Web site follows the workings of Ohio's government, tracking legislation, legislators, news, and more.
Ohio History and Genealogy
- African-American Experience in Ohio 1850-1920
- This digital collection illuminates specific moments in the history of Ohio's African-Americans and provides an overview of their experiences during the time period 1850 to 1920 in the words of the people that lived them.
- Ohio Battle Flags: Fight for the Colors
- Ohio soldiers carried the flags, known as colors, in the Mexican War, Civil War, Spanish American War, World War I and World War II. There are 552 battle flags in the Adjutant General's battleflag collection, including 434 from the Civil War. This resource provides information, as well as digital images, of the actual flags.
- Ohio Death Certificate Index
- Search this database for death certificates from 1913-1944 and discover other ways to locate death certificates.
- Ohio History Central Encyclopedia
- An evolving, dynamic online encyclopedia that includes information about Ohio's natural history, prehistory and history. Each section contains written information, maps, timelines, and images.
- Ohio History Online
- The Web site of the Ohio Historical Society filled with numerous resources from prehistory to modern history in Ohio. Various collections are available online and information on more resources is available.
- Ohio Memory
- A digital collection of Ohio historical artifacts, includes scrapbooks on Famous Ohioans, History of Flight and the Wright Brothers, the Xenia Tornado, and more. You can create your own scrapbook, also.
- Ohio Newspaper Index
- This resource is an index of Ohio newspapers held by the Ohio Historical Society (over 4500 titles). These include historical newspapers reaching back as far as 1793. Ways of obtaining copies of the newspapers are also covered here.
- Ohio Military Rosters
- Search the full text of the roster from the Adjutant General records for officers and enlisted men from Ohio who served in the War of 1812.
- Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps
- The Sanborn Maps are large scale street plans produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance company from 1867 to 1970. Sanborn Maps show the outline of each building including the location of windows and doors together with street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers. Use these maps to locate and identify buildings and neighborhoods, to study the growth of towns and cities, and to study the impact of new developments.
|
Religion |
[top] |
- Religion and Philosophy Collection (EBSCOhost)
- This database provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
|
Science/Technology |
[top] |
- Access Science
- Provides a fully searchable collection of science reference materials covering astronomy, biology, chemistry, physics, and more. Includes a dictionary, encyclopedia, research articles, biographies and Student Center.
- Computer Source (EBSCOhost)
- Computer Source provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology, covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software.
- GreenFILE (EBSCOhost)
- This research database focuses on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, which explore the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
- Ohioline (OSU Extension Office)
- Through factsheets, bulletins and other educational materials, the Ohio State University Extension Office provides a wealth of information covering a wide array of subjects, such as agriculture, natural resources, family and consumer sciences, community development, 4-H and youth.
|
Sociology |
[top] |
- Sociological Collection (EBSCOhost)
- Offers information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.
|
Test Preparation |
[top] |
- LearningExpress Library
- Provides a completely interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help students and adult learners succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must pass.
|