Support Wright Library

painting of houses library logo with foundation
Donate Here

Contact the Foundation

The Foundation Board meets the first Wednesday of every month at 6:30 p.m. with some exceptions.  Meetings are open to the public.

Wright Library Foundation Trustees

Penni Morris, President
Mark Harman, Vice President
Kirk Johnsen, Treasurer
Amy Deal, Secretary
Patty Caruso
Susan Elliott
Elaine Gounaris
​Julie Teeters

Kristi Hale, Director
Lu Ann Stanley, Library Board of Trustees Liaison


Projects funded
by the Library Foundation

Far Hills Music Series

Summer Reading Club programs and incentives

Author visits

Eco-friendly water fountain

Improved power access

Makerbox collection

Decorative exterior lighting

Foundation exceeds goal for 2017 Annual Fund Drive 
Wright Memorial Public Library Foundation exceeded its 2017 Annual Fund Drive goal, raising $26,839 to enhance library programs and activities. ​
“We are so grateful for all of our generous donors whose support deeply enhances the lifelong opportunities we can provide to Oakwood residents,” said Library Director Kristi Hale.
WYSO 91.3 Book Nook host Vick Mickunas spoke to the top Library Foundation donors Saturday evening and gave a witty insight into his evolution as interviewer of 1,500 authors and luminaries ranging from Sue Grafton to Buzz Aldrin. 
“Vick's love of reading is a beautiful reminder of the worlds that books can open for all of us,” said Library Foundation President Penni Morris. “The success of this premier event has certainly set the stage for future similar donor events.”The Wright Library Foundation also added Oakwood residents Elaine Gounaris and Patty Caruso to the board in January.
Gounaris, sponsorship and special events manager at the Dayton Art Institute, is a longtime Wright Library cardholder and patron. She lives in Oakwood with her husband, Mark Winwood. Caruso, a marketing professional, lives in Oakwood with her husband, Michael, and their four children.
Donations to the Library Foundation support the Library's mission by providing fun and innovative programs, materials, outreach, amenities and services that the Library could not otherwise provide the community. Recently the Foundation has sponsored summer reading events, educational programs, literacy initiatives, authors and guest speakers, and facility updates.


Donations to the Foundation are invested and expended for the exclusive benefit of the library and operates as a component fund of the Dayton Foundation. Anyone wishing to donate to the Library can do so by mail, at the library, or online.
Artwork for the 2017 Annual Fund was provided by Oakwood resident, Brent Beck. For more information regarding his drawings, illustrations and paintings, please visit



Community Support Is Important and Easy


Donate by credit card
Donate online at The Dayton Foundation. If the 'Apply My Gift to' field is not pre-filled, use the fund number #2540 for the Wright Memorial Public Library Foundation.

You can also donate through The Dayton Foundation using your Charitable Checking Account. 

Donate by check
Please make your check payable to "Wright Library Foundation" and mail to:

Wright Memorial Public Library Foundation
1776 Far Hills Avenue
​Oakwood, OH 45419

Other Gifts Options

All gifts to the Foundation support Wright Library and all donations are fully tax deductible as allowed by law. Gifts of any amount are appreciated.

Your gift will ensure quality services and materials today and for future generations.

Donors are recognized for their contributions on our website and in print materials. Please email the Foundation to let them know if you prefer to remain anonymous.

About the Foundation
The Wright Memorial Public Library Foundation raises funds for Wright Library, holding, investing, and expending those funds for the exclusive benefit of the Wright Memorial Public Library. Created in 1997, the Foundation was formed to operate exclusively for the purpose of advancing the Library's goals, objectives, and priorities. 

Foundation Board meetings are held at 6:30 p.m. the first Wednesday of each month in the Library Meeting Room with some exceptions and are open to the public. The Board consists of nine trustees who serve three-year terms. Interested applicants are welcome to contact the Board president for an application.​
Foundation Bylaws

PDF icon Foundationthankyou.pdf766.07 KB